top of page
  • Laura Ferries

A Cappella

By Laura Ferries

I piece together these jigsaw words

thread them together in broken verse


spaghetti sentences

spun around my tongue

tangled elegantly

tagliatelle

a language not so much spoken but sung


staccato


I season my accent,

pepper my punctuation;

marinate slowly the sentence formation.


Meanwhile, his English is crystal clear,

distilled

but still


A cappella

I learn the lyrics


I wing the words

still songless birds


raw in the word

down to the bone


unusual dictionary

devouring the words, I nurture them known.



About Laura Ferries:


Ferries is a high school English teacher and writer who explores life, love, place, and space in her poetry. She runs a travel blog at www.lauraferries.com and has self-published two collections of her poems. Ferries has a love of languages, and speaks Spanish and Italian. She performs regularly at spoken word events in Liverpool and hosted her own bilingual English-Spanish poetry night in October 2021.

60 views

Recent Posts

See All

Sartorial

bottom of page