top of page
  • Anirban Mishra

Anirban Mishra: Ask the Clouds To Remember

Artist's Introduction:


Through my works, I am trying to share my viewpoint on raw human emotions in contemporary life. My sensitivity pinpoints the inherent loneliness that has become an ever-growing part of contemporary life. I invite viewers to experience with me our process of separating from living as a collective tribe, through an integral sensation of isolation. Whether it is the outcome of city life compared to village life or whether it is our daily solitary existence in the shadow of COVID-19, life has caused people to separate from their communities and lock themselves in a new “cocoon” type of living. My artistic style relates to early modern realism, a time when artists performed the role of describing life-changing events, such as the move from country life to new urban environments in a growing mechanical world. I experienced a similar transition myself, moving from the village where I was born into the big city, only to find the city in ruins. Far from its usual busy characteristics, the city was under lockdown instead. As India endured some of the most dramatic outbursts of Covid-19 in the world, it became not only a physical danger, but also a trigger for mental disease due to the extreme cases of isolation and loneliness.


I dreamed colourfully. I tried to entangle my dreams with reality and represent them through my works, but all the colours became monochrome, symbolic of sadness and the colourless human soul. I like to use a European colour palette with an Indian figurative style; it represents the dual character of my works. My eyes are vividly exhausted to see the suffering, pain, and loss. My works are consistently restrained, presenting part of the story or one suggestive aspect. I give the viewer many clues but no specific answer, forcing them to complete the narrative.



Monday Afternoon (2021)

Watercolour on paper, 14 x 18 inches



Cloud Gate (2020)

Watercolour on paper, 12 x 12 inches



The Afternoon (2022)

Mixed media on paper, 22 x 28 inches



City in the Morning (2021)

Mixed media on paper, 18 x 24 inches



Night Café (2020)

Mixed media on paper, 11 x 14 inches



Observer (2021)

Watercolour on paper, 11 x 14 inches



About Anirban Mishra:


Mishra is a practising artist from India. The works featured above are from his most recent exhibition at the Akara Art gallery: Ask the Clouds To Remember.



74 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page